Northern Lights D2 Men and Women Join NCR

The Northern Lights Conference is pleased to announce their commitment to joining the new National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) Open Division for its men’s and women’s D2 clubs beginning in Fall 2020. The Northern Lights Conference was formed in 2012 as the collegiate arm of the Minnesota Rugby Union. It includes 31 men’s and women’s teams competing at both the Small College and Division 2 levels.

This decision was overwhelmingly supported by a vote of collegiate membership after a task force, appointed by the Minnesota Union, engaged and interviewed multiple organizations in order to present side-by-side comparisons of their offerings at a collegiate meeting earlier this week.

“Our task force was committed to doing our due diligence and presenting all options to our teams as objectively as possible. In the end, NCR stood out as the organization with the most comprehensive plan that would allow our teams to play on a competitive national pathway without significant disruption in our seasonality or hybrid format” said Greg White, Men’s Commissioner. “The move to NCR is the best fit for all of our teams at this time”, Women’s Commissioner Rachel Hill adds, “We are excited where this move will take us.”

The Northern Lights membership includes:

Men’s Division 2 Women’s Division 2

Minnesota State University Mankato Minnesota State University Mankato

Minnesota State University Moorhead University of Minnesota Duluth

North Dakota State University North Dakota State University

South Dakota State University St. Cloud State University

St. Cloud State University University of North Dakota

University of North Dakota Winona State University

Winona State University

Men’s Small College Division Women’s Small College Division

Bemidji State University Bemidji State University

Carleton College Carleton College

Gustavus Adolphus College Gustavus Adolphus College

Macalester College Macalester College

St. John’s University College of Saint Benedict

St. Olaf College St. Olaf College

College of St. Scholastica College of St. Scholastica

University of St. Thomas Minnesota State University Moorhead

Southwest State University (Dev)

University of Minnesota Morris (Dev)