D2 Great Midwest Rugby Conference Commits to Joining NCR

The Great Midwest Rugby Conference is pleased to announce their commitment to the National Collegiate Rugby (NCR) Open Division D2 Competition beginning Fall 2020.  The Great Midwest was created in 2012 and it prides itself on being one of the deepest in D2, having sent three teams to the 15s playoffs each of the past four years, with UW-Whitewater winning both the 15s and 7s National Championships in 2017.

When asked about the Great Midwest’s commitment to NCR, Commissioner Todd Streeter commented “We are excited for the opportunity to compete against the best in D2, under an organization whose ethos more closely aligns with our conference mission to support collegiate rugby players and teams.”

The Great Midwest currently has 14 men’s teams spread across Wisconsin, Illinois, Michigan, Iowa, and Minnesota.

  • DePaul University
  • Illinois State University
  • Loyola University Chicago
  • Marquette University
  • Northern Illinois University
  • Northern Michigan University
  • Northwestern University
  • University of Illinois-Chicago
  • University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • University of Northern Iowa
  • University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • University of Wisconsin-Platteville
  • University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
  • Western Illinois University

Todd explained “NCR agreed to provide a home for D2 Collegiate Men’s rugby that mirrored and even expanded on the historical success that has been built since the first Fall National Championship in 2013. We’re really looking forward to engaging all the additional benefits in NCR student and club leadership support, National Club Rankings, All-American recognition, Heart and Soul Awards, coaches’ polls, robust playoff venues, a National All-Star competition and partnerships with companies such as the Penn Mutual Life Insurance Company and Rhino Rugby.”